- What Certified Journey Baker Actually Is
- Who Issues It and Where It Sits
- What the Credential Covers: The Entry-Level Baker's Scope
- How the Written Exam Works
- The Twelve Knowledge Areas
- Eligibility and Membership Mechanics
- What It Costs
- Preparing Without an Official Study Guide
- What Is Not Publicly Confirmed
- Who Benefits From the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CJB means Certified Journey Baker, an entry-level credential issued by Retail Bakers of America (RBA).
- The exam is an online multiple-choice written test delivered through ExamBuilder; 75% is required to pass.
- No practical exam is listed for CJB, and RBA publishes no official CJB study guide.
- Fees are a $25 application plus a $100 exam, totaling $125 before membership dues.
What Certified Journey Baker Actually Is
CJB stands for Certified Journey Baker. It is a professional credential for bakers working in commercial retail bakeries, issued by Retail Bakers of America. Within RBA's certification levels, it is the entry point: a way for a working baker to document that they command the fundamentals of the trade at the level of someone assisting in a production bakery.
Because several unrelated credentials share the same three-letter acronym, it is worth being precise. Everything on this page concerns the Certified Journey Baker credential from RBA and nothing else. If you want a shorter orientation to the name itself, see our explainers on what CJB stands for and the meaning of CJB; for the credential as a whole, there is also a page on what CJB certification is.
Who Issues It and Where It Sits
Retail Bakers of America is the trade association behind the credential. RBA runs a multi-level certification program for retail bakers and decorators, and CJB is the starting level. Higher levels in the RBA family carry their own requirements, and some involve practical demonstrations. CJB does not: current RBA pages list an online multiple-choice written examination for this level and no CJB practical examination. Do not assume that the practical requirements attached to other RBA levels apply to CJB.
The credential is aimed at people early in a baking career, or people who have worked in a bakery for a while and want a formal, industry-recognized marker of their knowledge. The 2,000-hour experience pathway (covered below) shows that RBA expects candidates to arrive with real production-floor time already behind them.
What the Credential Covers: The Entry-Level Baker's Scope
RBA's qualification guidance describes the CJB-level baker as someone who assists with the day-to-day work of a commercial bakery. That description is the best guide to the depth of knowledge expected. It covers:
- Making and handling pies, cookies, cakes, breads, rolls, desserts and other commercial baked goods
- Stocking ingredients
- Preparing and cleaning equipment
- Measuring, mixing, scaling, forming, proofing, oven tending and finishing
- Basic sanitation
Read that list as a depth filter. The credential expects you to understand why scaling is done by weight, what proofing is doing to a dough, how to run and clean production equipment safely, and how sanitation fits into every step. It does not expect the managerial or design depth reserved for higher credential levels, though management-flavored topics do appear in the shared knowledge-area list discussed below, pitched at entry-level depth.
How the Written Exam Works
The CJB examination is an online, multiple-choice written test delivered through ExamBuilder. It is taken in a single timed sitting, and the passing score is 75%. For a closer look at how that threshold works in practice, see our page on the CJB passing score.
What RBA does and does not publish
RBA's current public pages do not state the number of questions, the split between scored and unscored items, or a numerical time limit. We will not guess at those. One older document is worth mentioning, with a warning attached: a 2024 SkillsUSA orientation embeds an RBA CJB exam guide that reported 100 questions and 90 minutes. That is partner-hosted material from an earlier year, and it is not proof that current logistics are unchanged. Treat it as historical context, not a promise about your sitting. Confirm current details with RBA when you apply.
| Item | What is verified |
|---|---|
| Format | Online multiple-choice written examination via ExamBuilder |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Practical exam | None listed for CJB |
| Question count and time limit | Not currently published (an older 2024 partner document cited 100 questions and 90 minutes) |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Not published |
| Open-book, calculator, adaptive and live-proctor rules | Not verified |
| Pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
Because the pass rate is not disclosed, any figure you see quoted online should be treated skeptically. Our CJB pass rate page explains what can and cannot be said from the available evidence, and how hard the CJB exam is discusses difficulty in qualitative terms.
The Twelve Knowledge Areas
RBA's Certification Q&A lists twelve general written-exam knowledge areas approved by the Certification Board. That list is shared across certification levels. For CJB preparation, we use it as a structure at entry-level depth. It is important to be clear about what it is not: it is not a CJB-specific exhaustive blueprint, it carries no official percentage weights, and it is not the practical-test rubric used for other levels. Treat the twelve areas as a preparation map, not a guarantee of exactly what appears on your exam.
Our companion piece, the CJB exam domains guide, goes through each area in more detail. Here is the overview, with CJB-level emphasis.
Domain 1: Ingredients
The functional role of what goes into baked goods and how it behaves.
- What flour, sugar, fat, eggs, leavening and liquids each contribute
- Storage and stocking of ingredients, including rotation and spoilage awareness
Domain 2: Terms
Trade vocabulary used on the production floor.
- Names of processes such as scaling, proofing and mixing methods
- Terminology for products, stages and finishes
Domain 3: Math
Bakery arithmetic that supports accurate production.
- Scaling and converting measurements by weight
- Adjusting quantities up or down for batch size
Domain 4: Tools
Hand tools and small implements and their correct use.
- Choosing the right tool for measuring, cutting, shaping and finishing
- Care and cleaning of tools
Domain 5: Equipment
Larger production equipment and its safe operation.
- Mixers, ovens, proofers and related machinery at an operator level
- Preparation, cleaning and basic upkeep
Domain 6: Systems
How work is organized so production runs consistently.
- Workflow, production sequencing and sanitation practices
- Food safety systems and their place in daily routines
Domain 7: Doughs
The heart of bread, roll and pastry production.
- Mixing, fermentation, forming, proofing and baking stages
- How dough type affects handling and finished product
Domain 8: Merchandising
Presenting and selling baked goods.
- Display, freshness and presentation principles
- How product appearance connects to sales
Domain 9: Labeling
Information that must accompany finished products.
- What labels communicate and why accuracy matters
- Allergen and ingredient awareness at an entry level
Domain 10: Nutrition
Foundational nutrition literacy for a baker.
- Basic nutrient concepts as they relate to baked goods
- Understanding how ingredients affect nutritional content
Domain 11: Personnel
Working with and within a bakery team.
- Safe, professional conduct and hygiene expectations
- Basic workplace roles and responsibilities
Domain 12: Management
Business awareness appropriate to an entry-level baker.
- Cost, waste and inventory concepts
- How production decisions connect to the operation's results
Key Takeaway
Because the twelve areas are unweighted, do not over-invest in one favorite topic. A baker who is strong on Doughs but ignores Math, Labeling or Nutrition is exposed on a test that treats the whole list as fair game.
Eligibility and Membership Mechanics
CJB is not an open-enrollment exam. You must be an RBA member and meet an experience requirement. The two routes in RBA's requirements are:
- Work experience route: one year, or 2,000 verifiable hours, of commercial-retail baking experience.
- Combined route: one year combining education and work, including at least 1,000 actual work hours.
The word verifiable matters. Keep records of where you worked and for how long, because your experience is subject to confirmation. The membership requirement and the experience prerequisites exist separately from the exam content: meeting them is what makes you eligible to sit, while the knowledge areas are what the exam tests. Our CJB requirements page walks through qualifying in more detail.
One point of confusion deserves clearing up. After your exam application is accepted, there is a two-year window to complete the examination. That is a deadline for finishing the process, not a credential validity period. RBA's public pages reviewed do not verify a renewal term, renewal fees or continuing-education requirements for CJB, so do not assume any of those exist or don't exist. For timing questions generally, see CJB exam dates.
What It Costs
The fee structure is straightforward, but the membership element is easy to overlook.
| Route | Cost | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Member route | $25 application + $100 examination = $125 | Total is before RBA membership dues; there is no separate non-member tier |
| BakeryX institutional student route | $50 | Includes one-year individual RBA membership upon passing |
Two takeaways. First, there is no non-member price: you need to be a member to apply, so budget for dues in addition to the $125. Second, if you are a student through a BakeryX institutional program, the $50 route is considerably cheaper and bundles in a year of individual membership once you pass. A full breakdown, including how to think about total outlay, lives on our CJB certification cost page.
Preparing Without an Official Study Guide
RBA states explicitly that there is no official CJB study guide. What it offers instead is a shared recommended reading list, provided to all certification levels. No mandatory textbook edition is stated for any title. The current list names:
- Professional Baking by Wayne Gisslen
- Practical Baking by William J. Sultan
- Professional Pastry Chef by Bo Friberg
- The Baker's Manual by J. Amendola
- Professional Baker's Manual by George Rudolph
- Baking: The Art and Science by Claus Schunemann
- Applied Foodservice Sanitation by NIFI/NRA
- Serving Safe Food (ServSafe) by NRA
- HACCP Food Safety Manual by Loken
- How Baking Works by Paula Figoni
- On Food and Cooking by Harold McGee
Matching books to knowledge areas
Since the reading list is broad and shared across levels, it helps to map it to CJB's scope. A reasonable pairing: the sanitation and food-safety titles (Applied Foodservice Sanitation, ServSafe, the HACCP manual) support Systems and Personnel; How Baking Works and On Food and Cooking explain the science behind Ingredients and Doughs; the general professional baking texts support Terms, Math, Tools and Equipment. Use the entry-level scope as your filter and skip deep dives into advanced decorating or pastry artistry that go beyond what a baker's assistant is asked to know.
A sequence that follows the work itself
If you want a plan, tie it to the order of the bakery day rather than to generic study theory. This is one way to sequence the twelve areas:
Vocabulary and ingredients
- Terms and Ingredients first, because every later topic uses this language
- Build a personal glossary from your own shifts
Math and tools
- Practice scaling and batch-size conversions until they are automatic
- Review Tools alongside the measuring tasks they support
Equipment, systems and doughs
- Equipment and Systems, with sanitation as the thread connecting them
- Doughs, following the sequence from mixing through proofing to baking
Customer-facing and business areas
- Merchandising, Labeling, Nutrition, Personnel and Management
- Finish with full-length practice questions across all twelve areas
For a fuller plan, our CJB study guide expands on this, and the CJB cheat sheet condenses the must-know points. You can also test yourself against realistic multiple-choice questions on the CJB practice test site, which is useful because the real exam is multiple-choice and rewards careful reading of answer options.
What Is Not Publicly Confirmed
It is worth stating plainly what we could not verify, so you can plan around the gaps instead of trusting guesses:
- The current number of questions and the exam time limit
- Which questions are scored versus unscored
- Official topic percentages or any CJB-specific exhaustive blueprint
- Whether the exam is open-book, whether calculators are allowed, whether it is adaptive, and what live-proctor arrangements apply
- The current pass rate
- Renewal terms, fees and continuing-education requirements
- Any official blueprint revision date
When you apply, check RBA's current certification pages and confirm exam-day rules directly, since these details can change and are not fixed on third-party sites.
Who Benefits From the Credential
The natural audience is people working in commercial retail bakeries: grocery-store bakeries, independent retail bakeries and similar production settings where an assistant baker handles pies, cookies, cakes, breads, rolls and desserts. For them, the credential is documentation that their skills match an industry standard, which can support conversations about advancement or a stronger résumé. We do not publish earnings claims here because no verified figures support them; for a qualitative discussion, see the CJB salary guide and the analysis of whether CJB certification is worth it. If you are weighing roles, CJB jobs covers where the credential is relevant, and CJB training covers ways to build the knowledge behind it.
Key Takeaway
Think of CJB as a knowledge credential layered on top of hands-on experience. The experience requirement gets you in the door; the written exam confirms you understand the principles behind what your hands already do.
Frequently Asked Questions
In this context, CJB stands for Certified Journey Baker, an entry-level credential offered by Retail Bakers of America. The acronym is shared with other, unrelated credentials, so make sure any information you rely on refers to the RBA Certified Journey Baker.
No CJB practical examination is listed in RBA's current materials. The credential is assessed by an online multiple-choice written exam delivered through ExamBuilder. Practical requirements tied to other RBA levels should not be assumed to apply to CJB.
The passing score is 75%. RBA does not publish the exam's question count or a current numerical time limit, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed.
The member route is a $25 application plus a $100 examination, $125 in total before membership dues, and there is no non-member tier. The BakeryX institutional student route is $50, with one-year individual membership included upon passing.
No. RBA says there is no official CJB study guide. It does provide a shared recommended reading list of baking, sanitation and food-science books, with no mandatory edition. Many candidates combine those titles with practice questions to cover the twelve knowledge areas.